Monday Music: ‘You are Good’ (Glenna Marshall)

IMG_20150626_182430

Glenna began recording her new EP on Friday tentatively titled “The Anchoring.” It will include 6 new songs that she has written and feature her on the keys. Our engineer/producer on this project is Jake Bond and he is doing a great job so far (can’t wait for you guys to hear it all come together).

A few years back, Glenna and I recorded some songs that we had written around the theme of “Love and Family.” We each wrote and sang six songs. We did it all ourselves with a little help from our friends on lead guitars, mandolin, bass, and cello. I am proud of the way it turned out and we were able to use at as a fundraiser for our current adoption. You can listen to and purchase the album here:

Love & Family

I know I am partial (because she is my beloved), but my wife is a great song writer. She has often moved me to tears with her honesty and the beauty of her lyrics. And she sings like an angel (looks like one too, hey, I said I was partial).

One of my favorite songs of hers is ‘Your are good.’ It is a song of confession, of what we believe about God and His character even when we cannot see it or feel it. It is a song that we need when our circumstances seem to contradict our theology. It reminds us that no matter how hard things may get, the character of God never changes. No matter what, He is good. It is a great song because it speaks of our great God, who is always good. Give it a listen:

IMG_20150627_143521

Leave a Reply

