Friday Sports etc: The Switch

You know it has been a slow week in sports, when the most exciting thing to post about involves uniforms (granted, Wimbledon is happening as well as the Women’s World Cup, but I just don’t folow those as much, I actually had to look up how to spell Wimbledon). The University of Tennessee has a new contract with Nike for all of their sporting apparrel (the previous contract was with Adidas). To be honest, it does not really matter to me one way or the other, but I am liking the new Nike look (and I hear that recruits like it as well, so that’s always good and I hear schools who switch to Nike can now pay their players, just don’t tell the NCAA). Not sure that the move will lead me to buying Nike shoes (can’t tell you the last time I bought a pair and my wife tells me that they make not very good running shoes, to put it nicely), but it will definitely lead to more Nike gear. The swoosh and the power T look good together! Here’s a look at some of the new jerseys:

To be sure, the whole thing is a reminder of the business that is college athletics. SO MUCH MONEY involved. But I still like it better than professional sports, where getting paid is pretty much the whole point and the game suffers.

Anyway, all that to say: Man I am ready for the Fall (at least when it comes to sports!)

wm

Leave a Reply

