Monday Music: ‘Pride and Joy’ (Stevie Ray Vaughan)


On August 27, 1990, Stevie Ray Vaughan was killed in a helicopter crash. He was only 35 years old. In his 35 short years he had become one of the greatest guitarists alive and, in my opinion, one of the greatest to ever live. He is my all-time favorite. I love the combination of his incredible skill mixed with his obvious passion when playing live. I have regularly sat around and just watched performance after perfomance of his on youtube. To be honest, I like his recordings ok, but his live shows are hard for me not to watch. Something about the way he plays and sings and just owns the instrument is mesmerizing, I can’t look away. Some people are great musicians, great song-writers, great live performers. And some just seem to be on a whole other plain, like they are actually too good to be believable. SRV is one of those artists to me. I hate it that he died so young. I am thankful for the music he left behind.

So in memory of the 25th anniversary of his death last week, I am posting a video of ‘Pride and Joy’ being played at Austin City Limits (you could spend all night watching his performances there and it not be a waste of your time):

Pride and Joy (live in Austin)

wm

Leave a Reply

