Monday Music: Top 5 Christmas Hymns


So this is my final installment of Christmas music for the season. Up today is my top 5 Christmas hymns:

5. Come Thou Long Expected Jesus: Great old hymn by Charles Wesley (one of the best hymn writers). Best line:

“Come thou long expected Jesus,

born to set thy people free;

from our fears and sins release us;

let us find our rest in Thee.”

4. O Come, All Ye Faithful: My favorite part of this hymn is the simple chorus which is the only appropriate response to Christ becoming flesh: ‘O Come let us adore Him!’ Best line:

“Word of the Father, now in flesh appearing!

O Come let us adore Him!”

3. Joy to the World: My favorite hymn writer of all time is Isaac Watts. His impact on congregational singing is profound. I think this is his best Christmas hymn. We sing it all year round at our Church! Best line:

“No more let sins and sorrows grow,

Nor thorns infest the ground;

He comes to make His blessings flow,

far as the curse is found!”

What an incredible line and an even more amazing truth!

2. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing: Did I mention that I like Charles Wesley? This is his best Christmas hymn. The melody is not necessarily my favorite, but the writing is great! Best line (well, lines):

“Veiled in flesh the God-head see

Hail the incarnate Deity

Pleased as man with men to dwell,

Jesus our Immanuel”

 

“Mild He lays  his glory by

Born that man no more may die

Born to raise the sons of earth,

Born to give them second birth.”

1. O Come, O Come Immanuel (David Crowder Band): So my hope was to try to find the best recordings of hymns, but the holidays slipped up on me (and it might have changed my list a bit). But my favorite song also has my favorite recording. I love the lyrics and melody of this old hymn. It has hints of longing, expectation, mystery, and joy running throughout. And I love the way Crowder captured them all with this recording:

O Come, O Come Emmanuel

So there you have it, my favorite songs of Christmas. Hope you have enjoyed them and hope you have a Merry Christmas! And never lose sight of the Savior who heard our prayer:

“O Come Thou Rod of Jesse, free

Thine own from Satan’s tyranny

From depths of hell thy people save

And give them victory o’er the grave!”

wm

Leave a Reply

